Tags

, , , , , , , , , , ,

The first step in tackling addiction is admitting you have a problem.

How do you know when an interest has become a full-fledged addiction?  Well, if it’s illegal, the answer is easy.  But if it’s perfectly legal, ask yourself the following questions:

Do you find yourself sneaking into the bathroom at work for a hit?

Are you too invested in the lives of strangers who also play this dangerous game?

Does it affect your sleeping and eating habits to the point you forget to sleep and eat?

Do you find yourself ending relationships with those who don’t partake?

Classic signs of addiction.

I have a problem.  I need help. I’m addicted to Scramble with Friends.

It began innocently enough, a competitive outlet which has quickly overtaken my life.  I find myself worrying about NanciG because she hasn’t taken her turn in over two days. I wonder if she’s all right.  I take it easy on Glitzy88, concerned at her failure to even earn two hundred points the last few times we’ve played.  What is wrong with me?  I’ve never farmed or bejeweled and I prefer traditional Scrabble to Words with Friends. But there is something about SWF – the clock ticking, the pressure to excel and the double word points that gives me a rush.  I feel better now that I’ve gotten it off my chest.

At 47, there are much more destructive vices I could have so I won’t deny myself scoring a SWF game when I need a distraction from my mundane life.  However, I will cut back on sleeping with my IPAD no matter how much I don’t want to miss my turn with zyn_58123 who has beat me fifty times in a row.    I want to avoid my family holding an intervention.

